top of page


Church Staff


Angus Macrae


07506 006459

Angus has been a Free Church minister for 30 years. He joined the Free North Church early in 2020. He loves to teach from the Bible and longs to see healthy gospel churches across our city and nation. 

Born in Glasgow, he grew up in the Isle of Lewis and is a graduate of Edinburgh University and Edinburgh Theological Seminary. He was ordained in Ayrshire in 1992, and has served at churches in Kilwinning, Dingwall and now Inverness. In 2018 he was Moderator of the General Assembly. 

Away from work he enjoys walking, running and being outdoors, along with reading, music and cooking. Married to Ann, a specialty doctor caring for patients with addictions, the couple have three adult children and a brand new beautiful little grand daughter.

Carrie Marlow

Women's Pastoral Worker

Carrie is passionate about pointing women to Christ, teaching them the Bible and helping apply that truth to all of life. She’s been working in ministry roles since 2009 and had the opportunity to do Bible training courses, and practical ministry training through local churches, UCCF and IFES. Recently she has completed a number of modules in Biblical Counselling through Biblical Counselling UK.


Carrie grew up in the south of England (Exeter, London and Cambridge) before heading to Sheffield for university. Apart from a year in Hull and a year in Istanbul she was based in Sheffield until she made her way further north to the Moray Coast in 2015 to support the work of Burghead Free Church. She has been part of the Free North since October 2020.


Outside of church things you’ll usually find Carrie drinking tea (preferably Yorkshire Tea), baking, out for a run or combining her love of tea and cake with spending time with friends.


Elders and Deacons

As a Presbyterian church, the leadership of our church is formed of Elders and Deacons.

Our Elders provide spiritual oversight and pastoral care to the church family. 

Our Deacons are responsible for the practical and material aspects within the church and community.


Angus Macrae

Chris Davidson (Church Planter at Merkinch Free Church)


Brian Cameron (Session Clerk)

Angus Campbell

Sandy Finlay

Archie Fraser

Norman Kennedy

John MacAulay

Rob MacIver

Martin MacLean

Chris MacLeod

Donnie MacLeod

John MacLeod

Stuart MacLeod

William Murray


Rob MacIver (Chairman of Deacons' Court)

Cathel Innes

Danny MacKenzie

Robert McKenzie

Alistair Morrison

Ian Wilson


Alistair Gillespie

Seamus MacLeod

bottom of page